Tuesday , January 26 2021

AFCON 2019: South Africa, Zimbabwe, DRC, Tanzania and Benin are eligible as a wrapping campaign t

South Africa was the 24th and the last country to qualify for the Africa Cup of the 2019 Nations after winning 2-1 over Libya in Sfax, Tunisia on Sunday. Along with Zimbabwe, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Tanzania and Benin, Bafana Bafana swept the remaining five places for the finals in Egypt on the last day of the qualifying campaign.

Zimbabwe joined the Republic of Congo 2-0 in Harare to the top of Group G while DR Congo Liberia beat 1-0 in Kinshasa to secure second place.

President Felix Tshisekedi was among thousands of supporters who praised the national team as they wrapped a difficult qualifying campaign.

Tanzania beat Uganda in Dar es Salaam 3-0 to qualify as a second group of L. Group Uganda had already qualified with a game to spare.

In Cotonou, Benin Togo beat 2-1 to qualify from Group D. The North African giants, Algeria, led the group.

Earlier on Saturday, Burundians shared late in the evening as they celebrated their country's historic qualification to the Africa Cup and Nations.

Burundi drew 1-1 with Gabon in Bujumbura to finish second in Group C and secured a place in the Nations Cup finals for the first time in their history. Mali was at the top of the group.

Cedric Amissi scored in the 76 minutes as Burundi, who just needed a photograph, had tried to seal his place in Egypt 2019.

Burundi joins Uganda and Kenya in Africa in the final in Cairo.

Arsenal striker Gabon, Aubameyang, had a largely quiet afternoon and was unable to get the second goal they needed to reach the finals.

Also on Saturday, the title holders of Cameroon were qualified after beating Comoros 3-0 in Yaounde. Guinea Bissau and Namibia also qualified.

The 24 countries that will play in the. T AFCON the finals are: Egypt (guests), Algeria, Angola, Burundi, Cameroon, Ghana, Guinea, Bissau, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Namibia, Nigeria, Senegal, Tunisia, Uganda, Zimbabwe Republic of Congo, Tanzania, Benin and South Africa.

Source link