Monday , July 4 2022

Alberta said to relax for damaging winds, heavy snow


Drivers traveling to the British highway are notified to be careful as a mixture of powerful winds and snow is expected to blow the province on Friday.

Strong winds along with rain will fall into poor visibility on area roads through the morning, Environment Canada warned in consultation.

The weather agency said there was a significant risk of "harmful" winds – and Edmonton will be hit in the morning.

Winding between 70 and 90 kilometers per hour is expected in the capital region. There are also times of light snow in Edmonton, with a risk of freezing rain.

"Strong northwest winds develop behind a cold front that moves rapidly this morning," said Environment Environment in consultation.

"As the winds spread to the southeast, strong shapes will reach the Cwyr Coch, Lloydminster and Hanna regions by mid-morning and continue through the afternoon."

Or 5 a.m. On Friday, wind warnings were in place for:

  • City of Edmonton – St. Albert – Sherwood Park
  • Drayton Valley – Devon – Rimbey – Lake Pigeon
  • Cardston – Fort Macleod – Magrath
  • Porth Crowsest – Pincher Creek – Waterton Lakes Nat. Parc
  • Fort Saskatchewan – Vegreville – Redwater – Smoking Lake
  • Hanna – Coroni – Oyen
  • Leduc – Camrose – Wetaskiwin – Tofield
  • Lethbridge – Taber – River Milk
  • Lloydminster – Wainwright – Vermilion – Provost
  • Okotoks – Afon Uchel – Claresholm
  • Deer Coch – Ponoka – Innisfail – Stettler
  • Spruce Grove – Morinville – Mayerthorpe – Evansburg

Other provinces of the province are warned to grind for heavy snow. It is expected between 10 and 20 centimeters in some areas.

It is expected that the end will end on Friday night for the parts of the north west of Alberta. It will continue until Saturday morning to communities closer to the Saskatchewan border.

Strong winds with junk from 50 to 70 kilometer per hour will also produce poor visibility and snow blow, Environment Canada warned.

Random warnings are also in place for several divisions, including:

  • Fort Chipewyan – Buffalo Wood National Park
  • Fort McMurray – Fort MacKay
  • High Level – Rainbow Lake – Fort Vermilion
  • Peace River – Fairview – High Prairie – Manning
  • Wabasca – Llyn Peerless – Gift Gift – Llyn Cadotte

Source link